Fairfield and New Haven counties are still in the 203 area code; all other counties are 860. Exceptions are portions of Woodbury with Watertown phone numbers, and the Fairfield County town of Sherman; both are 860. 

Since Nov. 14, 2009, phone users in Connecticut have had to use area codes when placing all local calls in the state. To complete local calls here, dial 203 plus the seven-digit number you’re attempting to reach.